MRV-T500 internal clicking noise problem

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi diyaudio ppl, I'm a noob here and also to repairing amps... so please excuse me and my ignorance. :) I have a few alpines that need repaired and I'm pretty sure I'm competent enough to do it so yeah. I've actually learned quite a bit from lurking around here in just the past day or so from Perry and jol50. Awesome, thank you... I'm pretty sure I could get an MRV-1000(a couple fried fets) and MRV-100M(burned ground band and a fried fet) going from what I've read. Thank you bunches!! Perhaps I could get a little guidance when I finally jump into that? It'd be soooo greatly appreciated. :rolleyes:

Anyhow, I'd like to start with this MRV-T500 I just bought on ebay advertised as 100% functional. :down: It does work indeed but it has this really loud clicking noise as soon as you power it up and every few seconds or so. If the amp is pushed it could change the frequency of the clicks or make them go away but only for a moment longer than usual. I tried this connected to a different sub and power supply and still the same thing. Though this time it started cutting out. Amp was still on but just the audio going out. At first I thought it was since it was warming up... but when it wasn't working I hardly touched it and it started again. In this location it was sitting on top the sub and exposed to more vibration than before. Stopped again, tapped it... and it started playing again. The clicking in it is actually quite loud... seems like it would have to be something physical. I felt around a bit while it was on with the cover off and it seems to be coming from the power supply.