car amplifier repair question....

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am just getting into amplifier repair. I have just recently built the leach amp with great success.

I have a car audio amplifier that will not turn on. The chassis as well as all the collector and the emitter on the output transistor are sitting at + 12 Volts. A working amplifier of the same type has + 30 Volts on the output transistors' collector and the chassis (heatsink) is at ground.

Does anyone have an idea to what the problem is? I can go into more detail.

Jerad

Unless you have a schematic, you'd be best be advised to take out the suspect transistors and then check them on diode check AND ohms check. Check the switching fets, probably IRFZ series, TO-220 packs. If there is a short, the PWM chip will not turn on into a fault situation. It goes into, what we call, burp mode. It will burp out a few pulses and see if all is OK but if not, it shuts down and won't start. It is a protect mode that switchers use.

Good luck,

Chris

Some more information...

The power supply controller is a korean product KIA494P. I found the datasheet after looking for about 2 hours. A replacement part after comparing onsemi's products would be TL494-D if needed in the future.

I didn't get time to hook up the amplifier to a power supply. But I did completely remove the board from the sink. I can see that the board actually connects ground to the sink, but I know I measured 12 Volts on the sink. How would that be possible without blowing the fuse?

Quick question: I must remove each transistor from the board to insure an operating device? I see that I should do this, but am nervous about doing this (although I am very good at desoldering).