Kenwood KAC-7285 amp, blows fuses as soon as turn on lead is applied

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I got this amp for next to nothing knowing it would be a repair job. Basically it blows fuses only when you apply the remote turn on lead.

I'm pretty sure that one of the transistors developed a short but when I use my DMM, the all show up as okay however I have not removed them from the board.

The board looks spotless with no burn marks anywhere and does not have that acrid burn smell that most burned electronics have.

I hooked it up to my car and did have speakers hooked up to it. I have not tested it without speakers (didn't think to). It was hooked up the same way my Rockford amp is hooked up.

The 2 20 amp fuses on the amp do not blow until you apply the remote turn on lead then both of the fuses snap.

Any suggestions? I'm a newbie when it comes to full blown diagnostics but I am not afraid of using a soldering gun when someone points me in the right direction. Done a lot of computer cap replacing and board level repairs on laptops.

Thanks in advance!

I'm not familiar with this amp but kenwood amps have problems with broken solder connections on the bias transistors. They are typically small transistors clamped to the heatsink in-between the large transistors.

Do not power up the amp unless all of the transistors are clamped to the sink. I'd recommend that you insert a 10 amp fuse in the B+ line before you apply power again. This will protect the power supply transistors better than the two 20 amp on-board fuses.