New, need some guidance - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd November 2009, 11:53 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default New, need some guidance

Hi,
I am new to repairing my own equipment, but have experience installing and also a good knowledge of electrical pricipals. I have a few questions about three amps I'm working on.

The first is a Directed 1100d that is older. I replaced eight irf9640 transistors of which four were found to be bad, and six fb31n20d transistors of which three were bad. This amp works great, until it sees a heavy load for a little while at which point it gets very hot and protects on me. But when it cools its fine. Does anyone know why?

The second is a Kicker 500.2 which was getting hot and going into thermal protect. I checked the fan circuit and found no power at the fan, so I powered it up otherwise (remote teminal and ground). I know this is quick and dirty but the amp now works fine. Is there anywhere I can look for a schematic to further diagnose this?

The third is an MTX TA7801, This amp stoped working out of the blue. No popped fuses, or anything abnormal. I opened it up and checked mosfets and checked for power here and there but don't really know what I'm looking for. While I had this amp powered up to check for voltage at mosfets, I did something really stupid and shorted a mosfet with my dvom leads. Here comes the wierd part...The amp works now! I'm sure there is still a problem though. Now the prism efx even work, which were not working before.

Perry,
I read about the 7801 in another post, and I found out about your cd version of the website. What all is included with this as far as schematics and brand specific info?

Thanks for any help in advance,
this beginner needs it!

Andy
Old 23rd November 2009, 03:33 AM   #2
diyAudio Member