2 ported or 4 sealed? in a car - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th October 2009, 02:52 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to scampo77
Default 2 ported or 4 sealed? in a car

i have enough space to install either 4 kicker l7 in my car in a sealed boxes or i can go with 2 that are ported

can anyone guide me with opinions or facts on what i should do. the reason i am leaning towards ported is only because i have read that it aids in cooling the speaker voice coils (i dont know if this is true) and i think that after long times of it being on this could help.

all i am really trying to do is to make my car heard from 6 blocks away and i dont really care about sound quality or aiming for a specific decibel level. also i dont plan on sound competitions i am very new to this and looking for some advice.

the specs i have from kicker for the 12" L7 is 1.5 cubic feet in a sealed box (anyone please feel free to correct that dimension) and the dimension i got from this site (thank you diy member "GM") which is 6.2 cubic feet.

also the amplifiers and the amp draw are not a factor i am using 1200 watt rms amps to drive each of these speakers, 3 alternators and 10 batteries
Old 27th October 2009, 03:13 AM   #2
Glowbug is offline Glowbug  United States
diyAudio Member

L7s are not sealed drivers, they like big ported enclosures with lots of port area.

Quote:
all i am really trying to do is to make my car heard from 6 blocks away
Please...don't contribute to the problem of car audio having a bad name with the public.

Having 10 batteries and 3 alternators for a setup that will never see competition is a bit much, but that's just IMO...it's your fuel economy
Old 27th October 2009, 03:23 AM   #3
diyAudio Member