250 hcca grounded out problem - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th October 2009, 12:07 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default 250 hcca grounded out problem

Hi,

I’m a newbie and not an electrical engineer so please bear with me. Any help in this manner would be a huge help.

I have a few 250 hcca amps and have been running them for years(10+). I believe they are 2nd generations because they have the crossover modules under the removable top plate.

The other day all three hcca’s shut down and no power appeared without blowing any type of fuses. After checking everything, many hours later I found that one of my hcca is grounded out. When I say grounded out I mean that the positive power terminal is seeing a ground just like the negative power terminal.

This has caused a lot of system damage. It completely fried my mbr70 (Orion battery isolator) and an Optima deep cycle blue top. Since then, I have fixed my mbr70 and replaced my battery.

About my 250 hcca, the board looks pretty clean. There are a couple of very small spots of corrosion on the back side where the all the caps are on the power side. This would be the four small caps (two the same size and the other two differ sizes) by the two large ones. But, the caps look fine. I took one of my good 250 hcca’s apart so I could check out some of the values of the resistors, transistors, caps, and diodes. I’m just using a multi meter doing ohm and continuity checks.