What to look for in a car amp?? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st April 2009, 03:09 PM   #1
Dan2 is offline Dan2  South Africa
diyAudio Member

Default What to look for in a car amp??

hi,

i haven't bought many amps, and i have only set up about 3 so i can't say im too clued up on all the features that amps have. i know the basics, like if it's bridgeable, got crossovers etc, but is there anything i should be looking out for when buying a new amp??

please bear in mind i am a student and haven't got tons of money to throw into a new amp. i also have relatively cheap speakers - but they work and i am happy with their peformance.

at the moment i am running 4 speakers and one sub in my sedan.
the fronts and the 12" sub are connected to a 4 ch 1000w jenson amp. i want to get an amp with similar power handling.

there are 2 problems with this amp i currently have:
first, it has crossover distortion, which is not a problem with the sub but sucks on the mids.

second, there is not enough gain for the sub unless you put the bass boost on, which makes the bass very boomy, but then there is more than enough power for what i need.

so what should i look for??
Old 1st April 2009, 11:03 PM   #2
ppia600 is offline ppia600  United States
diyAudio Member

If your Jensen says 1000w (max), the equivalent of most US made amps would be about 50watts rms by four (200 watts). I like ppi, orion, zapco, phoenix gold for example. You should be sure to check the RMS power ratings, they are more realistic that the peak/max ratings a lot of amps give you. Also, you want a low distortion percentage at that RMS rating. RMS is pretty much the term for continous output power. Peak is just for a few milliseconds and is pretty much a useless measurement in my opinion.
Old 2nd April 2009, 02:25 PM   #3