old coustic 360 amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th January 2009, 02:24 PM   #1
fongman is offline fongman  United States
diyAudio Member

Default old coustic 360 amp

I'm still new at this. I just love to do this kind of work. I'm also learning at the same time. I don't have much of test tool but i do have a Fluke 87 Multimeter, 12DC converter from Radio shack, and a Soldering gun.
Okay to make the story short, I got an old coustic 360 amp. When I first got it, and tested out the power, the fuse blew( this is with the power and ground connected, and as soon as i hook up the blue remote to power). The fuse pop when I leave the blue remote unconnected. The fuse does not pop. Only pop on me twice. The green light still turn on.
I replace it and its okay now but, I can hear a wine or hasssing coming out of the amp. I then open the amp and ckeck all the transistors,resistors,capacitors, and transformers. Everything seem fine. No burn, but I can see that capacitors are melting on the bottom but they are still ok and on the board. So i try touching the amp and its getting hot(only one side with the transformer is on). the transformer and 2 capacitors are hot, sounded like the noise is from the transformer. The out put transitors are hot also.
I now measure the voltage without the remote connectd of 14v, with the remote connected is around 9v. and heats up in 3 mins. I know its got a short and sounds like the transformer is leaking, something is draining the voltage. But i have very little experience. can someone help me. I have check the thread but have not found somthing like this? Help is much appreciated.
Old 29th January 2009, 04:12 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

If the outputs are heating up, the problem is in the audio section.