strange input/turn on problem

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have a cheap Pyle amp I received from a friend, described as non working from purchase. I pulled the covers, and found a fried ground trace. I fixed this, put power to it and promptly fried a IRFZ44N. The only replacement I had handy was an old SK device from a Kenwood KAC somethingorother. I powered it up again, and NO SMOKE! That's good. But, of course, another problem came up.

I inserted this amp into my test system in my minivan, running a 10" sub. When the system turns on, everything powers up, but all I get is faint alternator whine. As soon as I unplug the RCAs from the problem amp, my headunit starts outputting signal. Plug the RCAs back in (hot) and the amp plays fine.

I am new at diagnosing and fixing amps, advice and help is appreciated.

Ben

I guess I would test the outputs in the amp to start with, or see if it has rail voltage from power supply. I don't know what a PS does if you put just any part in, I only use replacements or a known sub. You can test the speaker outputs too, there should be little current on speakers with no RCA hooked to amp. If there is then output might be bad.

Often things blow for a reason, you never know if the reason is in the rest of the amp or was something that happened outside the amp. That one might be inside the amp yet, like the outputs.

No dc on RCA ground, but I did notice large (~.070V) DC on the speaker terminals...bridged into 4 ohms. This is with the RCAs plugged back in.

I used the SK mosfet because it was the only thing I had handy, and it's only a Pyle that already didn't work, so why not? Want to mail me the right part, if you have one handy?

There were some wire clippings that had found their way onto the board before the solder dip at the factory. I think this is what caused the initial trace burn.

This is the order of events:

1. Fixed burned trace.