Help Orion 250g4 keeps blowing fuses - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th November 2008, 09:41 PM   #1
Jstyl is offline Jstyl  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to Jstyl
Default Help Orion 250g4 keeps blowing fuses

I was hittin really hard and my amp tuned off then came back on then died completely so i wen and replaced the 2 30 amp fuses on the amp and it immediately popped them so i took it out and seen that my ndp7060 fairchild transistor was craked open smelt nasty so i tested all of the transistors on both sides with a multimeter set on ohm they all read the same,Im new with a multimeter.I just need to know what i need to look for cause after i replaced it i put 2 10 amp fuses in in case of damage and as soon as i turned the key they popped.Any one have any idea whats wrong?
Old 4th November 2008, 10:24 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

The power supply FETs (the 70N06s) have failed. They may have failed alone or they may have failed due to shorted transistors in the audio section of the amp. Did you read near zero ohms between the legs of any individual transistor on the other side of the amp?

If none of the transistors on the other side of the amp are shorted, you will need to replace ALL of the 70N60s. Also check the resistors near Q57-Q60 (especially the 10 ohm resistors that connect leg 3 of the MPSA56s to ground). The MPSA56s have likely failed. I'd suggest replacing Q57-Q60.

The circuit board designations are from a 250R. They may be different on your amp.

After replacing the defective parts, clamp them to the heatsink before applying power. Use a single 15 amp fuse when you initially apply power. If the fuse blows, there is likely another fault.
Old 5th November 2008, 12:20 PM   #3
diyAudio Member