need help to repair pg R9.0.5

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
just found this forum so big noob here. my amp only has sound through the hi channel but none through the bass. i did burned the amp couple months ago and try to repair it. i had my cousin replace some of the resistors and transistors that were brunt r cracked, but it still didnt work. i did search through the forum but didnt find nebody with the same problem. if u guys need me to post pictures i will, but the amp is still mount in my car. dont feel like taking it apart.

the transitors i brought from digikey is FQP50N06
the resistors are .25 watts carbon film
i circled the ones i replaced
IMG_4726-vi.jpg

IMG_4725-vi.jpg

IMG_4724-vi.jpg

IMG_4722-vi.jpg

None of your links are working it seems, But I can tell you by the part number you replaced the power supply Fets, and there gate resistors.

This is a symptom repair you performed, I am fairly sure the sub channel is toast also. bass channel power supply's don't usually fail by themselves. They usually fail after the sub outputs are shorted.

So there was more wrong then was openly visible. PG lists a flat repair rate of $150.00 for this amp if your in the USA. The outputs are TIP-35 and TIP-36, you should check these out for shorted condition before trying to repair the power supply.

See if you can get your links to work, so I might see your previous work....:)

OK lets get started...

Q9 thru Q16 are the four channel power supply mosfets. Your repair looks ro have worked to get the amp back running, but you said there were bad channels, could you give me more info like Rear channels maybe ?

If this is correct you must ohm out the outputs for the bad channels....LMK...Please tell me the Q numbers by the devices you replaced, so I can locate which power supply you repaired??? THX