why are old school amps worth so much? - Page 105 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th April 2013, 09:05 PM   #1041
TMM is offline TMM  Australia
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to TMM
Quote:
Originally Posted by whip View Post
That is true in some cases, but I was being more concerned with electronics, Technology has moved on and what it took to make an amplifier in the old days was large 5 and 10 % tolerance through mounted components ie. resistors, capacitors, ect.
Now days many high tech companies are using surface mount 0% tolerance components which are smaller and only use one side of the circuit board and the other side free for more stuff. That alone reduces costs and improves consistency.
I am not an engineer but I am sure one could tell you many ways that technology has improved and cost less. Not to mention that labor cost in Asia are far less then in North America. Sad as it is most of the Amplifiers are made in Asia , the companies had no choice in order to be price competitive. Designed here and built there and quality controlled here. That is the formula for todays Car Audio. Mostly.