RS180-4 Tweeter?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I bought a pair of Dayton RS180-4's and would like to know which tweeters would be a good fit for them for a two-way setup. Searching this and other forums I found several people using Dayton RS28A's, but I don't think I can fit 4" tweeters in my '94 Camry. I'm thinking I could go 3" max on the door pillar or 2" on the sail panel, using ABS pipe to mount them. I can either buy or build passive crossovers.

Driving them with a Kenwood KAC-649S, 30 W × 2 + 80 W × 1. I use the 80 W x 1 for a Klipschorn Promedia home theater subwoofer that I gutted, leaving just the ported box and 4 ohm speaker. The HU is a Blaupunkt Ventura CD83 with a single set of preamp outputs.

I have questions about the crossovers - like where to cross, L-pads, & how steep the slope should be - but until I start looking at tweeters I won't know what to ask. I'm a newbie looking to spend <$50 for a pair of tweeters and I'm just looking to have a little better sound than the factory Toyota premium sound. Is this realistic? I'll be in Taipei next month so I might be able to save some money buying tweeters at the Tang Band store there, if that's any help.

Thanks

Depends on the sound you want. I like a clear mellow tweeter than does not scream at me ever, so I like softdomes. 1" is good size. The Seas are good tweeters and phillips are too. There are others. A metal or hard dome will have more top end. PE and Madisound seem to be the popular places. Also go to SSA board and in the speakers section search for tweeters/etc. Some good threads there about components and what to use. Meo magnet tweeters are really small, the neo seas surface mount is the one I like. There are a couple surface ones that are easier to install in a car. I even looked at a mid dome PE has that can get pretty high, might have been a 2". The RS woofers are pretty good.