Isobaric, whatcha think?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
going through alot of different designs in my mind, i have 6 subs ready to go in..recently i was thinking about doing 3 iso pairs.

whats the downfalls of iso?

which do you think woud be louder 6 normal subs, or 3 iso pairs?

both would be in the optimum enclosures...im trying to figure out if the extra motor force from the iso's would be beneficial in any way other than a smaller enclosure.

thanx

Isobaric is good for small drivers. It lowers the Fs.
For example: you have an 8" sub with Fs of 50Hz, for an iso setup
with 2 of the same 8" drivers, multiply the Fs by .707... so your new
Fs is 35.35 for the same enclosure volume.

Or, you could reduce the enclosure volume when using the iso setup.
I'm not an expert and never built any speaker cabs that were iso, but
I read something about them on wikipedia.

Hi,

6 normal subs maximum level is louder than 3 isobaric by 6dB.
ispobaric is moreorless the same a 3 normal drivers.

Isobaric does not lower Fbox. It allows the correctly designed Fbox
for the alignment to be realised by a cabinet of ~ half the volume.

:)/sreten.

Disabled Account
Joined 2007
isobaric is 6dB quieter than a single driver for the same power input, ofcourse, the isobaric has two speakers working as one, so you can give it twice the power, meaning its only 3dB quieter.

having said that, SIX woofers in a "normal" box will need four times the box volume that an isobaric enclosure with three pairs would need...

and three pairs of speakers in an isobaric setup would be 9dB less efficient than the same six woofers in a normal box, and would still only handle the same power.

Disabled Account
Joined 2007
ppia600 said: