Alpine MRV-F400 op amp problems? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd November 2007, 05:01 PM   #1
spooney is offline spooney  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Default Alpine MRV-F400 op amp problems?

I just replaced the outputs in one channel of this amp and i'm happy to say that the channel now works.However now that this channel is working I believe i'm having some issues with an op amp or possibly the input mode switch.When the amp is switched into the 1+2 input mode or mono input mode both channels have equal output but when switched into the stereo input mode position I'm only getting output on one channel but the output is equal to the sum of both channels as if the amp was bridging itself into only the right channel.I'm thinking this is possibly what lead to the blown channel in the first place as it seems the amp is trying to push all its power out of two transistors instead of four.I also noticed that when the amp is in the stereo input mode it takes a little more gain on channels 1-2 to equal the output of channels 3-4.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2007, 08:23 PM   #2
jol50 is offline jol50  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Were you able to test the switch, check for fault when you move it, etc? RCA terminals good to board?
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2007, 08:35 PM   #3
spooney is offline spooney  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
i haven't got the amp torn back apart yet.The rcas appear to be fine.I jiggled them a bit and got no change in output . I hope it isn't an opamp as the ones in the amp appear to be hard to find.KIA6295S I believe is the part number. I haven't found any of those yet.I'm searching for an equivalent just in case that turns out to be the problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2007, 09:35 PM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
If you feed only the left channel and set the input to stereo, do you hear anything (noise, static...) out of the left channel as you move the crossover switch or the gain control?
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2007, 03:37 PM   #5
spooney is offline spooney  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
upon further inspection I found the rca inputs to be bad.When moved a certain way you can get equal output from both channels in any input mode.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2007, 04:18 PM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
Was the solder connection to the board broken or are the contacts loose inside the jack?
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2007, 04:59 PM   #7
spooney is offline spooney  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
haven't had a chance to get that far back into it.I'm thinking it may be inside of the connector as the solder connections to the board looked good.Hopefully i'll get a chance to check it out later
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2007, 05:50 PM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
You can't go by the way the connections look on the board. Desolder the connections (add new solder, desolder and resolder). If one of the posts is broken (a common problem on some jacks), it will be obvious when you heat the connection.

If the solder connections aren't the problem, the contacts are probably loose inside the jack. These jacks use wire to contact the center conductor of the RCA plug. The wire is wrapped around the center of the connector. You need to bend the wire inward (towards the center of the hole) where it turns 90°. If you bend the free end inward, it may get pushed back into the center and cause problems. This is easier to do with the jacks off of the board.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img_4191b.jpg (94.1 KB, 92 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2007, 03:15 AM   #9
spooney is offline spooney  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
the connectors on the inside were a little loose but ultimately it turned out to be a broken solder joint.It looked good but the second I unsoldered a few of the other connections this one just pretty much fell through the board.Thanks for your help Perry. Another valuable lesson learned.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alpine MRV-F401 or MRV-F400 Service Manual M.André Car Audio 6 21st February 2010 09:37 PM
Seeking input on repair of Alpine MRV-F400 amp Nagamitsu Car Audio 7 23rd April 2009 06:48 PM
old alpine 7903e pre amp hu problems weesatron Car Audio 38 30th December 2008 11:06 AM
Alpine MRV-F400 channel 3 no output loginfailed Car Audio 6 16th December 2007 02:06 AM
Alpine 3545 (alpines best) problems DerekB1 Car Audio 2 8th January 2005 04:58 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:16 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2