sound sensitive LEDs - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th November 2007, 01:41 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to JoeKnowsBasebal
Default sound sensitive LEDs

i'm a noob here. i know a little about electronics cause i used to install car audio/video/alarms, but i don't know all the equations for the electronics or anything like that. basically i know resistors and wire guages.

anyways... i want to wire a few (2 or 3) LEDs into my car that get brighter as i rev up my motor. i want to place them inside the hood scoop on a Camaro SS. I've wired LEDs in a car before, but i've never done a sound sensitive wiring. I want them to get brighter as the engine gets louder.

what are the parts i need and maybe a simple wiring diagram to help me out. just let me know the part names (like the device that recognizes louder or softer sounds) and maybe how much voltage i should have running through everything.

thanx in advance.
Old 19th November 2007, 02:13 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to ocool_15 Send a message via Yahoo to ocool_15
If you are just wanting it to work off a mic look up lm3915, lm3916 Ic's. There are kits based on those chips that should do what you want.
Old 19th November 2007, 03:58 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Would seem easier, simpler, and cheaper to use a tach signal, and use a frequency to voltage converter to light your LED's.

Mics are relatively expensive in comparision, and won't work very well under the hood, IMO.
Old 19th November 2007, 04:13 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

can i get those at a store like Radio Shack or would they have to be ordered off the internet?
Old 19th November 2007, 06:05 AM   #5
diyAudio Member