lightning audio amp repair - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th August 2007, 03:33 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default lightning audio amp repair

i need to replace the mosfets on my amp, they are irfz44, i went to radio shack and can only find irf510's, will they work?
Old 27th August 2007, 04:54 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

The IRF510 is not a suitable substitute.

Get the IRFZ44ZPBF from digikey.com or mouser.com.

Have you checked for shorted output transistors and other defective components (gate resistors and driver transistors)?
Old 27th August 2007, 03:15 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

i wish i knew how, im new to this, ive been studying,
Old 27th August 2007, 09:30 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Can you post a photo of the inside of the amp?
Old 27th August 2007, 11:14 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

here are the guts, sorry, my phone camera is crap

Click the image to open in full size.

it was wired, i installed it, everything was working fine then all of a sudden i smell some thing burning, pull the REM of the amp and saw smoke, it was wired up rite, the amp does 1000rms @ 1ohm and the woofer was wired to 1 ohm, it was installed in a 300c and there batteries are in the back, i noticed the ground from the (-)BATT to car body looks really thin, like 8ga wire and i have 4ga on the amp.
Old 27th August 2007, 11:33 PM   #6
diyAudio Member

Ok, I cleaned up your photo and removed the clamps so you could see the transistors underneath. The 6 transistors on the left are the output transistors. You need to check them with an ohm meter to see if any read anything near zero ohms between any of the legs of any individual transistor. If you have any that read near zero ohms, they're defective.