Earthquake PHD2 seems to lower output??? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th August 2007, 04:05 AM   #1
ppia600 is offline ppia600  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Earthquake PHD2 seems to lower output???

I have a PHD2 I bought new from a guy around a year ago. It was great and had way more power than I needed. One day at work the guys and I were bored and we wanted to smoke a speaker for fun. (yeah, I know STUPID ME) Anyways, we screwed this 6" woofer to my back deck, just to see how much bass it would produce before we smoked it. Well, as soon as the speaker burned, the coil must have shorted to the frame and then to ground through the back dash. The amp shut the entire car down it was drawing so much current. I had to go under the hood and disconnect its main fuse.
After sending it to Earthquake in Cali., and spending much dinero to repair it (I had attempted to repair it by replacing every power supply and output transistor with the original part numbers but it still wouldn't come on) I got it back almost two months later. They somehow kept forgetting to send it back to me. Now when I turn the volume up high enough to pound the 12" mtx 7500's it seems to automatically turn the volume down a little even though the car's voltage isn't dropping much and the subs are aok. It never did this before I fried it on the cheezy 6" woofer. The only thing I noticed different on the amp board is a diode soldered across two of the legs of the power supply pwm IC, or at least that's what it looks like. Of course the IC has the part number ground off so I couldn't change it when I attempted to repair it myself. (that was the only part they changed, besides replacing the ones I changed with the SAME part number transistors )