Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th July 2007, 09:43 PM   #1
shagone is offline shagone  United States
diyAudio Member

Default 2sk3662 substitutes?

i have an alpine mrpf250 with all 4 power supply fets blown out bad with black soot all over! i managed to read k3662 on one of the 4 so i assume that all 4 were toshiba 2sk3662?

has anyone had luck with other fets in place of these? i have 4 new irfz44 fets, would these be ok without changing any other components? what else could i use? or should i just order a few of the 2sk3662? i'll be fixing more of the same amps in the near future but i was wondering if a beefier fet would help much? the 2sk3662 shows 60v 35A.

Thanks for any advice for a "newb" of sorts. i'm a 12 year tech but new at amp repair.
Old 14th July 2007, 05:03 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

You can beef up the fet without much issue, unless your drivers are not meant for the load and you might just have to change the gate resistor to make the turn on/ turn-off work correctly. the Z-44's are a fair sub for a 35 map rated fet that was there.
I would be checking your gate drivers as from the sounds of it they are smoked also. If you don't it will fail on start up the first time most probably.

Good luck
Old 6th March 2008, 12:07 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

I lift this old tread instead of creating a new.

I have almost the same problem as shagone, I tried to mail him but because I havenīt made any posts yet (new member) I canīt use the mail function.

Anyway I just want to know if it worked to just replace the blown K3662 with new 2SK3662 ?

Very thankful for answers!
/Johan
Old 6th March 2008, 07:03 PM   #4
shagone is offline shagone  United States
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally posted by turbopilot
I lift this old tread instead of creating a new.