diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Car Audio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/car-audio/)
-   -   Soundstream 404s (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/car-audio/105100-soundstream-404s.html)

Ken Hill 11th July 2007 06:02 PM

Soundstream 404s

I have a Soundstream 404s amplifier with a problem. It powers up with the high current LED illuminated and I get no sound out of any of the 4 ouputs.

I have repaired amps in the past with great sucess, but I have never worked on a SS before. From my research I found the "s" models have an auto-select circuit for high current or high power opperation that can be troublesome. The amp is supposed to power up in high power mode so I assume the problem is in this auto-switching circuit.

My trouble shooting has revieled all the outputs and power supply components to be good. I did find one bad rectifier diode pair (FEP16DT) so I replaced all four devices.

After searching this forum I think schematics from SS are out of the question. Can anyone offer any advice on this problem?

Thanks,

Perry Babin 11th July 2007 06:34 PM

The schematic for that amp is available.

Does the power supply oscillate and then shut down?

Ken Hill 12th July 2007 03:56 AM

Where can I get a schematic? Soundstream has not replied to my e-mailed request.

The power supply does not oscillate. It just sits there idling pulling 1.95A while I looked around with a scope to find were the incoming sigal gets lost.

Perry Babin 12th July 2007 04:11 AM

If they don't respond, email me directly so I can attach it to the return email.

If the PS isn't oscillating, the problem is before the transformer. The FETs are the most likely suspect. The PS driver IC could also be defective.

Is anything getting hot?

If the power supply isn't oscillating, the signal won't make it past the first op-amp. The power supply must be up and running to have power for the op-amps.

The Rug Doctor 12th July 2007 07:46 AM