Precision Power Guru Please Help.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've got another A600 and I would like to know of an easier way to test the transistors in it? I normally just pull all the components and test them individually. No schematic blues! Are there any typical problems A600's encounter? Are there any test points with corresponding values. I'm a two way radio tech and a lot of the boards I work on have test points with corresponding values. I'm just trying to make things a little easier so I'm not guessing and checking and getting frustrated.

Thanks,

Corradolvr

When I power this one up both the low impedance and power lights come on. I get about a 10 amp draw on the on my power supply. The irfz34 transistors on both sides get a bit warm. The transistors on the side with 5 bdt82's in a row gets hot. I'm thinking I have some shorted transistors but I'm not sure. Whats the best way to test the power supply transistors and channel transistors in circuit? Any ideas on what might be going on? If the transistors are shorted what could have been the cause, besides someone that didn't know what they were doing. What typical in circuit problems could cause this issue?

Thanks,

Corradolvr

Is their anyone out there? I got one channel working but the other one has no output. both of the vertical boards are getting input and have output. Is there a way I can test my transistors in circuit? I did notice one strange thing ohms base to emmiter on one side is 14 Mega and the other side is 1.2 mega. What's up with that?

Thanks

Corradolvr

corradolvr said:
What are JP1 & JP2 used for? There's no jumpers on them. Test points?