• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

A few questions before buying

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I am new around here. I was looking for a DIY audio amplifier and I really like the Audio Sector featured amps. But before I order, I have a few questions for Peter. Kindly bear with me, I am a newbie (with some experience of building of 1010 and 4440 amps).

The following question may all sound dumb but I really need to clear my confusions.

1. My source will be a Yamaha CD Player. My room is 10 feet wide.12 feet long and 10 feet high. I have an graphic equalizer that I had built around LB1405 (5L+5R). I would like to keep that between the source and amplifier. Which amplifier should I choose. LM3875 or LM4780?

2. Being in India, I have a few constraints like getting quality speakers and transformers. What speakers work best with these amps? Any recommended brands?

3. If I put a tweeter, can I use a crossover?

4. Do the amps perform best with full range speakers or a woofer - mid-range-tweeter setup can be used?

Now for the amps,

1. Considering I am using the LM 4780 amplifier, do I need 1x LM4780 for both channels or 2xLM4780s for 2 channels?

2. Do I need 2 transformers (dual mono) or can I use one?

3. Do I need to use a 3-pin plug for the primary source? Line+Neutral+Earth? I am just concerned about any humming that might arise.

Thanks in advance!
Basu

Let me try to answer this...
1. Both amplifiers will have the same 'line-level' inputs....so your EQ will work with either. The LM3875 has slightly less distortion at full rated power.