• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

LM4870 Noob mess up

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have a situation that i'm trying to resolve.. I messed up the diodes on my rectifiers by only half reading the intructions.. Anyway they went in back to front.

Peter said that it is possible to reverse polarity and use it as normal... However I have already tried to remove the first 8 from one rectifier with little success. I ended up snapping the pins off a few MUR's.

My question is.. Would it be possible to use the one rectifier I have with diodes in wrong way, to power both amp modules.

This is my first project and I have only myself to blame for errors, but I would like to know if I can make it work.... More chance of the wife letting me do project 2 ;).

Is the goal to remove and re-install the diodes in the correct orientation or are you just interested in not damaging the PCB? The clearance of the leads into the holes has a big effect on how successful you will be extracting the parts without damaging them or the board. Personally, I would cut the leads off the diodes and unsolder / extract the pins and then install new diodes. I know it's a pain getting more parts but getting new boards is usually much worse.