Pinging DICE 45--Diy tonearm question?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dice 45, first I'd like to thank you for rousing up my interest in making a unipivot tonearm. I read some of the posts down below this one. I've used some ideas from the Altmann arm plus most of what you recommended. I'm 99.8% finished my 12"white oak arm, and have mounted a junkish cartridge just to be amazed at how stable and smoothly this thing appears to track.
My question to you is, by what method can the arm mass be determined so as to decide in what compliance range my "real"(not purchased yet) cart will be. It can't be as simple as weighing it, or choosing a "mid" compliance and go from there right?
I think I am looking for the "rotational" mass as the arm tracks the groove, etc. Please keep in mind that I am just a technician-type lacking the exposure to the physics behind the correct answer. Thanks for any tips and help!

diyAudio Senior Member
Joined 2002
FROM THE SOUND OF IT...

Hi,

Congrats.
Since it is made out of wood which is medium weight as far as most tonearms go (unless you use balsa) it seems to me a low to medium compliance cartridge would work fine.

by what method can the arm mass be determined so as to decide in what compliance range my "real"(not purchased yet) cart will be.

The arm mass is determined by its' moving parts so in your case the armtube/headshell and counterweights assembly.
I can't remember the rough breakdown figures putting one type in one class or the other but Dice45 might.

Ciao,;)

hard times,
thank you.
your simple Q is hard to answer. Takes extended homework. My diagram is too small to post, have to redraw it with CAD help to a usable size.
Too tired this evening, i come back later with details.

Possible procedures:
1a)