Help with basic Thorens TD-160 problem

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have a very (hopefully) simple but annoying problem with a Thorens TD-160 that I recently purchased from ebay. The problem is one stereo channel that comes in and out intermittently. Please excuse me if this is a dumb question – but I am new to Analog.

I first thought it was an alignment or cartridge problem. So I replaced the cartridge with a new Shure M97xe. I have adjusted the vertical tracking force with a Shure gauge. I checked the VTA and the azmith as best I can. I ran a new ground wire form the chassis to my preamp. None of this has helped – if anything the problem has gotten steadily worse.

I checked the wires from the head-shell to the RCA jacks with a ohmeter and all the connections had around 0.6 ohms. I also switched the channels left to right at the pre-amp and the problem channel also moved – so it looks like the preamp is ok.

I thing I did notice that seemed odd was that one channel has one side connected to chassis ground and the other channel has both side un-grounded. What is the preferred wiring for this – both sides un-grounded and a separate ground wire or one side grounded on both channels?

Thanks for any advice.

Chris

I've one of these, albeit with a Grace 707 arm. On mine, no feed from the cartridge is grounded on the turntable chassis; it only has a mains earth connection. I treat the cartridge as balanced and do any earthing only at the preamp end.

You didn't tell us what the arm is. Is it the Thorens arm or some other?

It's also possible that the contacts between the headshell and arm are corroded or that one or more of the little spring loaded contacts in the arm (if fitted) have lost their tension.

cheers, Keith.

Regarding your grounding question, I assume you've looked at the TD160 service manual posted at