diy record cleaning brush - it works!!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all. I have a pair of standard carbon fibre brushes -one from Lenco, another from Stanton-; the work well for dry cleaning, don´t scratch records, have an antistatic propertie, and are good for ¨casual sweeping¨ of dust and loose debris.
I was wondering about some brush to perform wet cleaning in a not motorized fashion -that is, with no cleaning machine, because I haven´t one and because I have no experience with these-, but sometimes is hard to find good brushes -soft ones, with the right lenght of bristle, etc.-; I have tried some nylon bristle, some pig bristle, velvet and god knows what more, with mixed results. None of those were stellar performers, I think that because the bristles weren´t tiny enough to dig deep in the groove.
But a couple of weeks ago I find, for mere chance, an optimum material for the task.
I don´t know if that mat is available in the rest of the world; here in my country is commonly used to seal the space that remains in the separation between sliding aluminium frame windows, and is called ¨polypropylene felt¨ by window makers. I think that is a very generic item, so maybe you get the chance to obtain some and try it in your own records.
That material is a long ribbon of syntethic fabric with a very soft feltlike material attached to one of it faces; well, not exactly velvet, but a mesh of very tiny and short fibers of minuscule diameter.
I have taken some 20 cm of one of my windows, cut it in two strips of 10 cm, and attach them to a piece of acrylic with some super glue -to provide some sort of handle-. Well, the homemade brush performs very, very well. You can feel the fibers ¨biting¨ the groove, and removing a lot of debris that you wouldn´t noticed otherwise.
I have noticed no signs of scratching in the disks so treated, and apparently the fibers do no harm to the vinyl.