Where to begin?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Howdy! I just registered after lurking around here awhile (sorry), and although I'm an HVAC guy by trade I'll try and contribute when I can. Some of you may recognize my moniker from AA or A'gon, and all I can say is; "There goes the neighborhood!"

I want to get my hands dirty and build a TT (aka: Teres), but I don't want to dive-in to the deep-end too fast. I would like to start by making a simple, custom plinth using Planar 3 parts from either my existing TT or possibly a donor, and I'm thinking it would be cool to make a plinth large enough to mount two or even three arms onto, giving me the ability to do on-the-fly comparisons.

Here's the question: Where can I find a thread regarding plinth substances? I looked in the Search area and found alot of mention of various types of materials, but they were all listed individually and I didn't find exactly what I was looking for. I'm thinking along the lines of a Corian/Wood/Corian sandwich, perhaps 3" or so in height (for the mass), relieved inside to allow for the bearing/well and the arm(s).

Is this a good idea? If not, any ideas to help me out? Or a link?

Thanks!

Hi Jim,

Tired of the Vinyl Asylum eh!
Have you read any of the Lenco threads? LOTS of plinth ideas out there. I'm surprised you didn't mention this one:

http://forum.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/fr.pl?eanlg&1075644493&read&3&4&

Somewhere I saw polished black Corian and some kind of exotic hardwood
under a Teres platter. Looked amazing if my memory serves me,
which isn't very often. Sounds like you are on the right track.

Jeff

Hi Jeff, and Thanks for the reply!