Garrard 301 template

I've recently brought a Garrard 301 turntable, and am in the process of designing/building a plinth for it.

I have read through most of the Websites, collecting information regarding this turntable, in particular in the design of plinth. there are a cople of things I have noticed: firstly, most of the plinth designs are too bulky or, may I say, a bit too old fashion; secondly, most of the plinth designs do not allow the change of tonearm; and, thirdly, as you said, its very difficult to obtain a template in 1:1 scale.

I have in fact obtained a 1:1 print of the template from a local shop, but I do not think its accurate enough, and, being an architect myself, I have decided to draw one for myself. It took me almost two weeks to draw it (its not easy as you may appreciate, as there are a lot of curves), and it is drawn in accordance with the actual turntable I have, and cross checked several time against various "templates" I had; I therefore have every reasons to believe that its dimension is very, very accurate, and I have worked out the radius for all the curves, and the coordinates for all the openings.

I therefore like to share the result of my work with you, free of charge of course, as you are just another DIY enthusiast like me.
If you like you could contact me by e-mail, as I cannot send the drawing file to you here as its an AutoCAD file, I have to send it by e-mail, and you will need to have AutoCAD to open and read it. (You may of course copy the file to a foppy disc and bring it to one of the professional printer for architectural/graphic works to have it print out to 1:1 scale.)

Hope you find it useful, and good day to you.

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2003