Laser vs needle turntable

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Laser vs needle turable

Hi there guys,

I was curious to find out whats the difference between the laser and needle turntables? Does anyone own the laser player?whats the difference in sound quality? I was inclined in buying a turtable and came across this laser TT. I thought you experts would know better than me as I am new to this vinyl but certainly immpressed with the quality of sound with the TT's.

here's the link www.high-endaudio.com/RC-ELP.html

Thanx.

Tony

Attachments

• laserturntable.jpg
    laserturntable.jpg
    16.7 KB · Views: 630
The laser turntable should be the best but I've read that they suffer from record surface noise. The laser cannot push dust out of the way like a physical stylus can.

I'd prefer a laser pickup as there would be zero record wear and there would be no penalty in record life if you played the same track more than once times in a row in the same day.

This topic has been discussed in numerous posts on the Audio Asylum.

Here's my contribution.

http://www.audioasylum.com/scripts/t.pl?f=vinyl&m=332154

The key point is that vinyl (also lacquer) is a deformable material, and LPs have been mastered to sound "right" when the groove has been deformed by the localized pressure of a stylus. Remove the localized pressure, and you are listening to something other than the playback conditions that the cutting engineer mastered the LP for.

Not necessarily bad, but certainly different.

hth, jonathan carr

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2003
jcarr said:
The key point is that vinyl (also lacquer) is a deformable material, and LPs have been mastered to sound "right" when the groove has been deformed by the localized pressure of a stylus. Remove the localized pressure, and you are listening to something other than the playback conditions that the cutting engineer mastered the LP for.