Thorens TD-160 Skipping

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm running out of ideas to fix a problem, so I'm back at well... again.

About a month ago, I purchased a Thorens TD-160 from Ebay and installed a Grado Black cartridge. Although the belt is stretched (waiting for a new belt to arrive) and the playback is too fast, it really sounds nice. Unfortunately, every time the tonearm gets near the center of a record, it begins to skip badly.

Here's what I tried to do to fix it:

* Re-balanced turntable (I'm not very good at this)
* Increased / decreased tracking force
* Increased / decreased anti-skate
* Cursed uncontrollably
* Blamed Mrs. Annan

Nothing so far has worked. I'm thinking that the belt may have something to do with it, but I'm not sure. Also, its possible (although I hope not) that the tonearm is on its way out. I'm inclined to believe that it has something to do with the tonearm-- maybe the anti-skate is getting on and its being a bit too agressive? Also, it certainly possible that I have screwed up the cartridge mounting-- never had any experience with this, but I was fairly meticulous about it, so I hope its right.

Anyway, I'm out of ideas, so if someone could just come to the 33rd floor of the UN building and fix this, or at least offer some advice, I would really appreciate it.

Yours in asenine questions,
Kofi

Hi Kofi,

nice to see you around again!

I didn' t quite understand your problem; what do you mean by "skipping"? Does the arm jump from one groove to another, or does it repeat the same groove over and over?
As far as I understood, your problem happens only when the arm approaches the inner part of the record, right?
Did you have this problem right from the start, or did it appear only recently?