EMT 928 preamp refurb

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone,

First I want to thank all of you who have unknowingly contributed to my learning about electronics. I'm still a beginner, but this site is an invaluable resource for novices like me as we try to level up our skills. So...thanks! If I could buy you all a beverage I would.

I have a few EMT 928's in various states of disrepair. One motor doesn't spin, One spins but makes no sound, one has a broken counterweight....you get the idea. I've never had the pleasure of hearing let alone owning any EMT model so frankenstein-ing one together from the units I have was an exciting prospect. I passed that test, and now have a unit that makes most of the right noises, though all the normal age-averse pcb components are definitely in need of a refresher. For example, if the recording pushes anything above a mezzo forte the sound crackles with agony. This brings me to the preamp.

There are separate identical boards for left/right channels. What I'm hoping for is one of you kind experts to flex your knowledge on the attached pictures and help me identify exactly what a few of the components are that I need to replace. There are a few that seem obvious to me, but before I start slinging solder I'd like to make sure I'm not making big mistakes. I found the manual for the 928 in the library over at VinylEngine, and while it does have circuit layout, it tells nothing of values. I'm over at Digikey and Mouser being completely inundated and overwhelmed with options, and having a hard time knowing exactly which component types to get. I'm not agonizing over trying to go ultra high-end with the quality of the caps (at least not yet)--I just need to get fresh parts on so that I can move forward with at least some assurance that my sound problems aren't related to 40yr old electronics.

As examples: