Need Cartridge Recommendation

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, Everyone.

So currently I’m running a Pro-Ject turntable with a Pro-Ject tube box. My turn table came with a Blue Point No 2 that I think I busted and bent the needle. So, I need to replace it. This came with the player and it’s stupid expensive, was wondering if anyone had any advice on either one that may perform better for a similar price or one that might perform the same for less.

Let me know what you guys recommend.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
It might be worth looking at the HANA Elliptical or Shibata.

Brand: HANA

I have no direct experience of either and generally prefer LOMC with a step up device of some sort. (Available option on both Hana cartridges) Worse I am currently listening only to strain gauge cartridges.

I heard one briefly at a HiFi show a year ago and it didn't do anything wrong that I can remember, and it's highly regarded by many.

Thanks for the tips everyone. Thinking about going with this one: HANA MC Phono Cartridge — Elliptical

I will need low output right?

"Need" is a strong word, but if you have the capability of using a LOMC with suitable step-up or active head amp, the lower moving mass of a LOMC vs a HOMC makes for a better cartridge. HOMC is really for those who don't have the gain and want to use it with a conventional MM input stage.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
If you elect to get the low output version I believe you may need a head amp or transformer with the tube box. My experience is that LOMC sound much livelier than the comparable HOMC, so if you can find the money for one or the other that would be the better way to go.

Edit: Apparently if you have a recent tube box it can take low output LOMC as well as MM/HOMC types so if you have one of these by all means get the low output version Hana elliptical.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member