Electronic phono MC step up transformer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
As discussed, I am posting the first stage schematic of my phono amp here. This is the 320 phono of Erno Borbely that I have been using it since 2011. A very articulate, quiet and dynamic phono that beats my ASR (old model).

I am thinking if I can use the first stage as MC stage for my tube phono project. Can anyone tell me is it possible to take the output at "TEST" point (Between R27 and R28) and feed it to a 47K MM tube phono amp?
Without having the component names and values, it will be hard to answer your question.

Hans

Hey sunsun,
I think it is fun to build something and compare to your borbely amp!
You can‘t easily re-use its headamp, though. At the test point, riaa is already provided if i read the circuit correctly.

The first I‘d do is building the pacific prepre to get you going and to give you a feeling where you stand with this simple circuit. You will notice more noise than with the borbeley.

You might parallel up to four fets and cascode it as per post #17 to help the noise.

Edit: or take the first stage from http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analogue-source/36260-folded-cascode-fet-opamp-mc-phono.html#post419559

I have another idea but would need to search my papers...

Last edited:
I am interested to use Erno's 320 as MC head amp because it is; to my experience and others' comments, quiet and good. Besides, it is readily available to me since it is a working gear. If I can get a point (TEST point as indicated here) where it is after the first stage gain and connect to my tube phono in progress, it would be the easiest way. I hope connecting from a point in the 320 board would not damage it.

According to the explanation of the circuit from the assembly instruction, the TEST point is before RIAA.