Newbie TT motor PSU question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
By way of introduction and my first enquiring post, I am not an electronics engineer nor avid/perpetual audio DIYer.
I would describe myself an occasional DIY upgrader/repairer and would like to consider myself "competent" rather than an expert (I have a physics degree and 25 years experience in electrical/mechanical/plastics manufacturing.
My long serving and long satisfying system is composed of Roksan Xerxes/Tabriz Zi/ATOC9 analogue source, currently supplied by the original DSU2/XPS 3 combo.
Recently the speed stability became degraded and my suspicion was that the DS2 was to blame. (having changed the belt and checked the motor mounting, pulley alignment, main bearing etc)
A quick look inside the wall wart revealed it to be quite a primitive design and replacing the caps restored its function, but...this has prompted me to question the performance of the supply to the motor.
With the "basic" XP7 costing £500 and indicating ripple current of <250mA I can't help thinking I could be something much better for a fraction of the cost….(did I mention I am also very reluctant to spend money?)
I already have a spare centre tapped torroidal 32-0-32V transformer which I would full wave rectify to give notional +32V, 0 ,-32V lines but what would be the most effective way to then achieve minimal ripple whilst regulating down to +26,0,-26V whilst keeping cost and complexity low?
In anticipation of perspicacious replies……

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
To Nigel's point a 32-0-32V transformer is going to give you around 44V unloaded, this is at or beyond the upper voltage limit of most reasonably priced voltage regulators if that is needed.

Is the current supply regulated? And it's not clear that improving the existing supply will necessarily result in any improvement in motor performance at all.