LME49710 Phono Stage

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
I recently completed my LM3886 chipamp and there's a bit of space left in the box that i think I could squeeze a phono stage into.
I'm going to build a version of the passive eq phono amp described in section 3.1 of this TI application note. The only deviations I'm going to make to the circuit are to reduce the gain of U1 and use a 47R and 300pF across the inputs as I use a MM cartridge.

The amplifier circuit includes U4 & 5 to 'flatten' impedance on the supply rails so I assume I can go for a pretty simple power supply (schematic attached), I've based the design on the following components:

Trafo
Bridge Rectifiers
Caps

My question is does this look like a sensible choice? I'm pretty new to this so I'd be grateful for any advice.

Attachments

• Power Supply.png
    Power Supply.png
    17.1 KB · Views: 969
Thanks, I'll look into options for regulating and use of CRC... as it's in the same box as the chipamp it would be nice if I could use the 2x25V 300VA transformer that's already in there. Unfortunately I get 37VDC after the regulator with that which rules out a linear regulator and I've no experience with switching regulators.

As for layout of the amplifier, I've had a stab by making a direct copy of the TI schematic in eagle (which I need to update the gain and input R&C for). There's no local decoupling... ideally I'd like to experiment but I need to work out how I can do that.

Attachments

• Amp Schematic.png
    Amp Schematic.png
    41.8 KB · Views: 920
  • Amplifier.png
    Amplifier.png
    38.6 KB · Views: 900
Unfortunately I get 37VDC after the regulator with that which rules out a linear regulator and I've no experience with switching regulators.

(assuming you meant 'rectifier' here where you wrote 'regulator')