Decreasing gain on Nad 245bee

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Nad 245bee gives max power output with only 0.27v of input. I would like to increase this to about 1.1v. (The same as my Nad 216)

I have basic knowledge and tools to solder and I assume this is possible to do somehow using a resistor, but don't know exactly how.

Anyone with knowledge that want to enlighten me?

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
We would need to see a circuit diagram to advise on modifying the unit.

If you can't come up with one then the safest option is simply to add an attenuator to each input. That can be done externally or possibly internally if the layout suits a bit of diy work.

We would need to see a circuit diagram to advise on modifying the unit.

If you can't come up with one then the safest option is simply to add an attenuator to each input. That can be done externally or possibly internally if the layout suits a bit of diy work.

I actually have the service manual. Used it for adjusting the idle current that was way to low.

Attachments

• Nad245bee.pdf
    475.2 KB · Views: 41
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Hmmm.

Seeing the full circuit and I would advise against altering anything within the power amp itself (possible stability problems), however it may be possible to add an attenuator.

Look at the diagram. You would have to do this on all four channels. Its only an idea but it looks feasible...

1/ R101 would need increasing from 470 ohm to say 4k7.

2/ You would add a new resistor across C124.

That would form a divider network for that channels input. The new resistor would be chosen to give the desired attenuation. For example the additional 4k7 across the cap would then divide the signal by two. You could go as low as needed in value for that resistor to reduce the level applied to the amp.