MJR Phono-Preamp Approach from M. Renardson with BF862 - what about sonic results - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analogue Source
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Analogue Source Turntables, Tonearms, Cartridges, Phono Stages, Tuners, Tape Recorders, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th April 2016, 10:12 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default MJR Phono-Preamp Approach from M. Renardson with BF862 - what about sonic results

Who have heard this very interesting phono preamp (at least for me) under
Phono Pre-amp Circuit
Old 25th April 2016, 10:14 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I build it for fun and it did not work.
I am a decent P-P builder so i do not know what went wrong.
Old 12th November 2016, 02:06 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

It's the only well-documented phono-pre DIY project that I know of (please correct me if I'm wrong), but - unfortunately - it does not work. If you compare the schematics with the board layout, you'll notice that ALMOST EVERY electrolytic is oriented wrong. Coincidence, or a deliberate sabotage?

I've built it, and I'm in the process of debugging. Even with the correct orientation of all electrolytics that need to be reoriented, this thing only works as a low-frequency oscillator. I'll tinker with it a bit more, see if I could find some more errors.
Old 13th November 2016, 01:11 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Yes, sorry, there was at one time a layout with supply regulators included, and that had a serious error. I removed links to that some time ago. The current layout shown at BUILDING THE MJR Phono Pre-amp Board Layout only has 5 electrolytics but somehow I still got one of those wrong, so sorry again. I will correct that diagram today. My only excuse is old age and a deteriorating brain. Regards, Mike.