DIY 12" Tonearm: i need your advice! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analogue Source

Analogue Source Turntables, Tonearms, Cartridges, Phono Stages, Tuners, Tape Recorders, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old Today, 12:39 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default DIY 12" Tonearm: i need your advice!

Hi all, greetings from Italy! First of all I apologize for my "not so fluid" written english but I will do my best to express my problems.
My grandfather is an excellent turner and i've decided to use his skills to build a 12" tonearm: I decided to make a Schick-alike 12" tonearm because I love his looking: simply atonishing!! but I have encountered some uncertainties while planning the tonearm geometry: i want a bended tonearm tube (like many 12" great tonearms) but i don't know the bending angle and the lenght of the two parts!
I am a newbie in DIY Hi-Fi, but studying some tonearms geometry I think that I have fonunded a solution and I need your confimation.
First of all I have to specify that in this project I am using Schick's dimensions wich are:
Mounting distance 304,75mm
Offset angle 17,11
Overhang 12,82mm
eff. Length 317,57mm

Let's have a look at this picture:
Click the image to open in full size.

The violet rectangle is the shell, the red Dot ("D" letter) is the diamond of the cartridge, the "P" is the pivot of the tonearm (so P-D is the effective lenght), and the angle "O" is the offset angle.

I would like to know if the two segment "P-A and "D-A" of the tube and the angle "A" must be of a predetermined dimension or I can simply decide them arbitrarily (as long as the Offset angle and the effective lenght are mantained).