Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Analogue Source Turntables, Tonearms, Cartridges, Phono Stages, Tuners, Tape Recorders, etc.

The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th November 2017, 05:10 PM   #971
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Moderator
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
That’s a neat scope, having a large screen is always good!

All digital scopes have the counters. It’s one of those things that once you have them you’ll never want to be without. It’s a wonderful tool, enjoy!
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2017, 06:06 PM   #972
Thunders1988 is offline Thunders1988  Belgium
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Antwerp
Hi, I'm still reading up on the SP10mk.2 for my own project, so please forgive any stupid questions...
This thread has already been a huge help and inspiration.

At the moment I'm restoring an old SP10mk.2 P/L owned by BBC Newcastle.
All units appeared fine on the outside, but the TT had a lot of brown goop inside. Looked like some kind of drink got in through the hole for the strobelight.

Already cleaned everything and rebuilt the PSU with new capacitors. Got the desired 32.5Vdc and 5Vdc, will omit the 140V and just go with an LED-strobe.

My next thoughts concern the SH10-C Control box...
I'd really like to omit it. I have no use for other extra controls like pitch or external speedswitches, so I'm comparing schematics and servicemanuals for the standard SP10mk.2 and the P/L version.
The SH10-C was meant to enable faderstart, without this box the start/stop button on the TT itself won't work.
Could it really be as simple as to just bridge the 2 SS-connections on the logicboard?

In the next couple of weeks I'll probably start building a plinth and recap the TT's boards.
I've already got a Jelco SA750L ready.
Let's hope everything turns out as it should!
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2018, 06:42 PM   #973
Thunders1988 is offline Thunders1988  Belgium
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Antwerp
OK, so back to square one...
I recapped the powersupply and set the 5V and 32.5V lines with their respective trimpots. Everything went perfectly.
Then I replaced all electrolytics in the SP10 and resoldered all (yes, all) connections at all 4 boards.

After reassembling everything, I just hooked everything up and it had the same problem it had before I serviced the PSU.

The turntable starts spinning and wonít stop. None of the lights come on. The indicator LEDs under the speedswitches donít come on and the LED replacement of the Strobe doesnít work.
I used the circuit I found at MPBarneyís site. 3 diffuse orange LEDís and their respective resistors connected to N2 and 5V lines at the connection PCB.
Now when I dismantled everything to do an idiotcheck of connections and stuff, everything appeared fine so I hooked everything up again and put my multimeter on the 5V line of the PSU just to see if it stays stable.
Turntable starts up again, but the voltage drops to 2,...V after 3 seconds.
So I switched everything off and disconnected everything and checked the voltages on the PSU without the TT again.
5V appeares dead (-0,17V) and 32V is down to 3,...V.
Really weird.

When I got the TT in from evilBay it was in very bad shape. The seller shipped it with the platter still attached even though he promised me to remove it. The entire kit was just wrapped in bubblewrap so everything could smash into eachother during transport.
The moment it arrived, I made the mistake to just hook everything up and hope for the best but the TT rotated backwards and spun extremely fast.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2018, 07:57 PM   #974
Thunders1988 is offline Thunders1988  Belgium
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Antwerp
Update:

I checked voltages again with the Fluke. Iím moving into a new flat...
PSU is fine.
When I disconnected the boards in the TT, voltages across C2 and C4 remain stable until I connect the logicboard.
Probably have to recheck everything on that board or even start looking for a replacement.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2018, 10:11 PM   #975
jeschiotz is offline jeschiotz
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
I seem to recall a user which found a shortcut in one of the speed LEDs. This fault caused the platter to spin as you described.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 10:26 PM   #976
Algar_emi is offline Algar_emi  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Algar_emi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada, Qc
The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
Hi. Look what I just bought It took me a few years of looking around to get one in Canada. I finally found two They are SP-10 Mk2.

Both turntable are almost perfect, one is missing the Technics logo. One power supply is ok, the other need repair. Looking forward to get advice/help to repair it. Once the defective one is repair I'll resell the second kit. I just need one, right!

Thanks in advance
SB
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1752991-technics-sp10-mk2-no-plinths-for-diy-project.jpg (147.9 KB, 96 views)

Last edited by Algar_emi; 17th January 2018 at 10:28 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 10:40 PM   #977
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Moderator
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
They always come in pairs.

Start by measuring PSU voltages.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 10:57 PM   #978
Algar_emi is offline Algar_emi  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Algar_emi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada, Qc
The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
Will do. For now they are still in transit Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 11:10 PM   #979
Algar_emi is offline Algar_emi  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Algar_emi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada, Qc
The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
Tell me there was for some time a discussion to put together a GB for custom machined heavy weight platter, like PasslBas is using in his listening room. Was it ever successfull or the idea was dropped?
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2018, 12:33 AM   #980
silvercosworth is offline silvercosworth  Singapore
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Anyone has spare SP10 MK2 PCbs laying around?

I was thinking of reverse engineering a limited copies of those PCBs and reproduce them using modern PCB makers.

Mine SP10's pcb has too many jumper link, caused by track lifting using too hot soldering heat ....

Kindly note that this is NOT an attempt to copy, just trying to savage those really bad PCBs in the SP10. I believe many will have encounter the same problem as me...
  Reply With Quote

Reply


The Incredible Technics SP-10 ThreadHide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technics SP 10 Speed Problems rollinr Analogue Source 29 27th October 2017 10:05 AM
Technics SP-10 Doesn't Spin breadhead Analogue Source 6 27th October 2014 12:09 AM
Cheap oscilloscope for setting up a Technics SP-10 johnm Analogue Source 22 28th June 2011 08:47 PM
Technics SP-10 speed problems Stefanoo Analogue Source 3 17th August 2008 11:05 PM
Technics SP-10 MKII pitch control peterb Analogue Source 6 28th March 2004 02:29 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 15.00%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2018 diyAudio
Wiki