Ground loop (?) when source (headphone amp) is off

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey, all.

I apologize in advance, 'cause I'm a green noob. Greenest of the green, in fact. But I'm tearing my hair out and this looked like the right place to find experts in this field. I hope you don't mind me crashing your party. Also, if I didn't post this in the right place, feel free to move it...given the topic it probably could have gone into one of the amplifier sections.

This is perhaps an unusual situation. We've got some devices that have their own built-in speakers and aren't normally wired up to an external amp (or designed to be). Desktop telephones, actually. In this specific case, IP phones (Polycom SoundPoint IP 335). The built-in speakerphone isn't loud enough (trying to double the phones as a PA system), so we want to hook up an external speaker to many of these phones. I've got an adapter (PC Headset to RJ9/RJ10/RJ22 Headset Plug Adapter - most compatible) that allows me to plug regular headphones (T/R miniplug jack) into the headset jack (RJ9), and I have been testing both with headphones as well as with various cheap, amplified computer speakers. So we're talking consumer-grade unbalanced audio here, where the source is definitely not line-level.

The issue is that when using powered speakers, as long as the phone is on-hook (no active call), there is a terrible 60Hz hum that comes through the speakers. During an actual call, however, even when there is silence on the line, the buzz is completely gone. If I use headphones, no buzz is present (of course), and if I am using speakers that have the option to run their amp off of batteries instead of an AC/DC transformer, when I switch to batteries, the buzz is gone then, too. Cheapie ground loop isolators between the phones and the speakers help (maybe cut about 75% of the noise out) but do not solve the problem completely.