MC Cartridge suggestions!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,

I've been using the Shure V15VxMR MM cartridge for the past nine months and I'm extremely happy with the performance of the Shure (I have used MM cartridges exclusively for the past 30 yrs). I would like to use/experiment with a MC cartridge in conjunction with the Shure and would appreciate any suggestions from Forum members as to what you would recommend I should use. The Shure was about $800 AUD and I suppose I would be expecting to pay that much and up to say $1500 AUD for the MC cartridge.
My TT is a Rega P25 with RB600 arm.
Thanks in advance to all.

Cheers,

phibes said:
I would like to use/experiment with a MC cartridge in conjunction with the Shure....... Cheers,

I'd just caution that swapping cartridges in the Rega is no trivial
task, especially if the height of the tone arm needs to be adjusted.

Ideally you should approach this by demonstration, but chances
of finding a dealer who will demonstrate different cartridges are slim.

If MC's are better than MM's, there should be some cost point at
which paying more for a MC is not justified, they should compete
on equal terms, I'd suggest this is around 200 to 300 $ (US).

The quality of the MC step up is also an issue to be considered,
you may be better with a high output Moving Coil.

I'm not going to offer an opinion on expensive MC's, IMO the
arm and turntable its attached to are far more important than
the actual cartridge used (if its decent) regarding the end result.

Ortofon's MC cartridges are pretty good IMO.

I use an Ortofon MC15 Super II with a RB250, fine line stylus - but
tracks at 2.2g, on a modded Systemdek turntable, nice / neutral IMO.

:) sreten.

MC Cartridges

Hi,