DIY linear tonearm

Have been intrigued by this stiction principle. So in honour of it I found my worst off center lp to try this theory out, have not found a single trace of stiction/sliding of the bearing on glass tube vs rolling as represented. I am as much as anyone very interested in physics and theory but obviously would like to see solutions to a problem. IMHO there is not a problem unless one has built the arm as is and then offered solutions. My apologies if this comes across as crass, but I've been running his for atleast 4 months without even as much as cleaning the tube and it still tracks like a champ :).

Colin

Last Saterday I`ve made a visit to the German AAA-Forum Show at Krefeld.

One of the participants: Clearaudio, with their TT2 tonearm.

One word: Fantastic!!

But the Colin`s sound descriptions are just what I heard at Krefeld.

Chapeau Colin.

Hans.

p.s. http://www.aaanalog.de/index.php?context=page&id=Page:6378#english

p.s.2 check at the end of this week ( google ) for possible foto reports.

Last edited:
Why is anyone buying *sealed* bearings??

The seals add friction and are usually used on permanently lubed bearings - the lube installed inside.

They do sell bearings with one side "shielded" if you think you needed that for some reason or another.

Silicone/synthetic oil does not gum up or thicken.

To polish the outside of the bearing I suggest making up an arbor. The arbor needs to hold the bearing between two washers. The washers should just make it to the edge of the outer race. One could use a suitable screw plus a center spacer, then you back the screw up the assembly to clamp the bearing. Now when you spin the bearing on the arbor you do not spin the bearing. One could use clear kitchen wrap (aka "Saran Wrap" in the USA) as a gasket between the washers and the bearing for a better seal.