Stylus issues...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone,
I'm new here, been using the forums for quick answers on my turntable related issues for about a year now, and you guys are great!!

I've built a custom turntable from a Rega RP1 body, using an Ortofon 2M Blue cartridge ( not my favorite ).

I have an issue, and I was wondering if you all could help me;
I've aligned my cartridge/Cantilever without a shim, and on the protractor it looks great, however when I'm playing a record I'm noticing about 3/4 of the way in the cantilever is moving so close to the cartridge body ( like the record is pulling the needle toward the center ) that it's nearly bumping the side wall. Because of this, I'm hearing some slight distortion.

I was wondering if anyone else has had this issue before, and if it's something I can fix! I have a moderate understanding of alignment, but I'm no professional. I have an RB-100 on there, no VTA, and I prefer a slightly lower than 1.8g tracking weight.

if anyone could make some suggestions, have some thoughts on this, I'd be more than happy. Thanks!!

Is your table level? Mine is not, and turntable orientation affects the anti-skate setting required.

It's so close to being perfectly level, I installed a spirit-level in the 2 critical points on the turntable. I like where your heads at though..

If the lack of antiskate causes skipping, you have a fundamental problem. Could be leveling, as ij suggests. Could also be pivot problems in your arm.

Now pivot could be the culprit, could installing my tonearm slightly off (1-3mm) of the factory pre-drilled tonearm 3-point holes have anything to do with it? I'm pretty sure I'm not that far off but man is it hard to align a tone-arm on a new non-factory DIY plinth..

Is the compliance of the cartridge a match for the tonearm in mass?