Announcers Box - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analogue Source

Analogue Source Turntables, Tonearms, Cartridges, Phono Stages, Tuners, Tape Recorders, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd August 2012, 05:57 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Announcers Box

Hey everyone...

I'm an electronics noob when it comes to designing gear, so please forgive the seemingly basic question.

How would you design a box that would need to route a dynamic microphone to two different outputs? One of them would be a main output for on-air use and would have a cough button/switch to kill the audio to that output, and a second output that would be to talk off-air when a button is pressed. That button would kill the main output and activate the second output?

The smaller, the better. The less components, the better. If it could be unpowered, or via 12VDC, that would be even better!

Size is an issue as I would ned to build 4 of these and travel them across the country. There's a company that builds these, but they are prohibitively expensive, way too large, and extremely heavy.

Anyone have any experience with this? Could someone help me out?!

Thanks!
Old 25th August 2012, 04:17 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Is there a better place to put this topic? Forgive me if it's in the wrong spot...
Old 25th August 2012, 10:31 AM   #3
AuroraB is offline AuroraB  Norway
diyAudio Member

You'll most probably have to pre-amp the mic first, in order to avoid clicks or pops. Switching can then be done via a fairly simple swith, but an electronic switch, something like an SSM2402, will do a lot better.
If the mixer have an insert jack, you may be able to use this with a single switch, but then you'd need to open the fader for talk-back also, and possibly there will be click noises.