Tone generator for Bias setting on tape decks

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Does anyone have a simple circuit for generating say a 10 or 15Khz sine wave for feeding into a 3-head tape deck for optimal bias settings? Lots of decks have 3 heads and variable bias but not many have 15Khz tone generators. I know I can use my PC but would also find a standalone plug-in box useful as well. An output level of 100mV would be about right (at a guess)

Hello df_genius

Back in the seventies I worked as a tape transport designer for Scully Recording Instruments Co. in Bridgeport, Connecticut.
From those days I still have instruction manuals for the models 260, 280, 284 and 100. There are schematics of the various bias oscillators shown, but their frequencies are well above what you wanted. Some of the manuals are too thick to read on short notice but the models 260 and 280 use frequencies of 110KHz, 115KHz and 180Khz. I have to read the manuals for the models 284 and 100 to determine their bias frequencies.
If the above information is of use to you, I could scan the cicuits on my next trip to town. I live 20 miles from the nearest scanner.

Sincerely,

Ralf

Helo df_genius

After rereading your post, I realized that I may not have been of much help.
It occurred to me that, since every tape recorder has the bias oscillator built in, that was not what you were looking for. If that is the case, I am not able to help. Sorry for having wasted your time.

Sincerely,

Ralf

Any simple oscillator built around a single opamp would do. You can find find a ton of circuits on the web. There is no strict requirement for the distortion, but it should be switchable between 1 kHz (better 300 Hz) and 10 kHz with little level variation.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
A test CD with a range of frequencies (perhaps make your own if you can) is ideal. A frequency sweep is useful too.