Bearings for Home-Built Conventional Tonearms - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analogue Source

Analogue Source Turntables, Tonearms, Cartridges, Phono Stages, Tuners, Tape Recorders, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th November 2011, 10:53 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Bearings for Home-Built Conventional Tonearms

Hello there!
I'm new to this blog, but thought I could throw something out to get some help.
I've built a couple of tonearms as a hobby, don't think there necessarily the greatest, they used a pinched ball bearing system using cup point set screws, but I want to use multiple ball bearings.
This is the first one I built 3 years ago:
PGE Homebuilt Tonearm - YouTube
Does anybody know a good supplier of very small bearings? The smallest I can get where I live are 1/4"outside 1/8" inside, there small but still mean the gymbal must be quite large to house them.
Or has anybody experimented with making their own bearings from scratch?
Patrick
Old 29th November 2011, 03:39 AM   #2
jlsem is offline jlsem  United States
diyAudio Member

Jewel Bearings

Jewel Bearings | Swiss Jewel Company

Most high end gimbal type tonearms use these. You may be able to scavenge some from old analog kilowatt-hour meters.

John
Old 29th November 2011, 10:01 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Ooh! that gives me some ideas, I didn't realize that many used jewel bearings, but makes perfect sense. I suppose any hard jewel stones shapped properly will work.
Thanks
Old 30th November 2011, 12:06 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Did you also make your own turntable?
Old 30th November 2011, 02:38 AM   #5
diyAudio Member