sansui smoke

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to DIYA and am interested in learning about tuners and speakers.My recently bequithed sansui 1000a just took a _rap. Symptoms are loud buzz when i press the power button. I am not sure if the tuner had one of the black horizontal switches which are stacked moved or not.Top = 1 or IMP
Bott = PHASE
I did see where somebyproduct or packing had come out of the middle transformer and dripped down through the chassis almost like a Beeswax type material.I am a bit upset because i have waited along time for something like this and didnt realize it until it was given to me. I had a list of tubes i was going to buy and replace along with i guess what are called pots.
Any help,please.
Thank you

Somewhere around ten to twenty years the electrolytic capacitors in electronic gear leak out the water and lose capacity. The cheap ones used on consumer gear are sealed with rubber that is attacked by oxygen, operating or sitting still. The good news is, amplifiers don't have very many and it can be economic to replace the caps if you do it yourself. I just change them all, without measuring; I understand others believe in taking them all out and measuring them once a month. Like a twenty year old tire, just because it holds air today doesn't mean it will hold air tomorrow. Some high end equipment after 1965 might have long life caps sealed with something other than rubber, but probably not a Sansui.