Stepper motors

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have had some experience trying to make a stepper do an impression of a servo motor at work. The general idea was to take a cheap(ish) off the shelf stepper motor and make it able to operate with out much cogging and to keep the noise to a minimum. While doing that it was desired to keep the high torque constant found in most stepper motors. I was able to throw whatever technology I wanted (within reason) to solve this problem, as it was a feasibility study.

I used a fairly sophisticated digital control system for control and a high resolution (2e6 counts / rev) encoder for feedback as well as some high quality linear amplifiers for power.

I eventually gave up as:
- I could reduce noise, but not enough for it not to sound like a stepper.
- I could get the servo to settle to minute fractions of a step under load, but not quickly (10's msec), meaning that cogging was an issue while moving.
- Sometimes drastic reductions in cogging was possible, but very small changes in the motor (like replacing it with another motor of the same type), made a bunch of re-optimizing necessary.

The big problem I found was linearizing the motor's behavior. I could knock off some of the big non-linear behaviors by modeling the system, but some effects were more subtle, defying my attempts at linearization.

zulu5d said:
Yes, thats the one I was thinking of!
Thanks for reminding me, time to drag out some steppers and give it a try.

J.

No no no!

You can’t use “some steppers”! You need special steppers designed for “micro stepping” AND drive them with micro stepping. This is not easy business to get it right, although it can be done.

Cheers

"Micro Stepping" is not a matter of the motor used but of the controller.