EF40 mc preamp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been looking for a tube phono stage to build to pair to my DL-103, and after being given a pair of EF40 tubes, I found these: Pentode configuration.jpg

Triode 33dB configuration.jpg

Triode 38dB configuration.jpg

First of all, I have no experience with RIAA stuff, so for those who do, do these networks check out?

Also, they all look to have high output impedance. Would adding a cathode follower be a good idea?

Last, seeing as the schematics are so similar, I was thinking about putting all three in the same chassis and using a 3 position switch to move between them.

Thanks in advance for any wisdom,
Alex

Not what you'll want to hear, but nonetheless true: a good RIAA stage is perhaps the most tricky and difficult bit to design and build. The circuits you linked are incomplete, made for a different tube, and far from optimum. This is not a likely path to success.

The EF40 has low microphonics but relatively high noise- is that really the tube you'd want to use?

Sy, Have you used the tube? From What I understand, it is the same as the EF86 with a rimlock base, and the EF86 is a relatively well liked tube, no?

About it being incomplete, I did think they looked a bit simple, but not having any real experience with phono stages, I couldn't really tell. What is incomplete about them?

Well, you'd need at least one more stage and possible a buffer to bring the signal up to line level and drive volume controls or interconnects.

The characteristics of the EF40 aren't the same as EF86, but are in the ballpark. Unfortunately, the EF86 isn't very quiet either (see, for example, the measurements in Frank Bloehbaum's article in Linear Audio Vol 0).