AR Turnable for enjoyment and tweaking - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analogue Source

Analogue Source Turntables, Tonearms, Cartridges, Phono Stages, Tuners, Tape Recorders, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st March 2011, 01:58 PM   #1
smiler is offline smiler  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default AR Turnable for enjoyment and tweaking

Hi all,

I currently have an inherited Pioneer PL-12D, which works but it's not in great condition. I'd really like to get started with turntable tweaking using a good base to build on, but it's important that I start with something I can enjoy from the off; this is going to be a long game!

I took a look at eBay, to see what's available in my area, and came up with this: AR Turntable with Mission arm, unidentified cartridge. I've emailed the seller, and negotiated 165. But I have no experience with second-hand decks, so I need help. Is 165 too much?

I googled the AR turntable, and I'm smitten with its potential - there are some beautiful examples on Vinyl Nirvana.

There's also this up for auction: AR Turntable with Linn Basik LV X & AT120E

Do I wait it out to bid on the well-spec'ed deck, or take a 165 plunge (plus, I suspect, further investment).

Any suggestions welcome, including cost-effective ideas of what I can do with such a deck if/when I buy one!
Old 22nd March 2011, 03:06 AM   #2
diyAudio Member